Bubblr

 

During Module 2 in class I had to create a digital work using Bubblr.  Bubblr is a tool that allows users to create comic strips using images from Flickr. I create a comic strip that is meant to be an introduction to an end of unit assessment.  The comic shows examples of social consequences of the American Civil War and concludes by asking students to consider the political and economic effects.  I consider this strip a warm-up to at least two days of research on the part of the students.  The comic strip is intended for middle school students and directly aligns with NCSS U. S. History Standard 2B, which is also aligned with Maryland social studies standards.

Wikipedia: A comic strip is a sequence of drawings arranged in interrelated panels to display brief humor or form a narrative, often serialized, with text in balloons and captions.

About annelomonn

I'm a grad student at McDaniel College. This blog is an assignment for class, but I intend to keep working on it even after this semester.

2 responses to “Bubblr”

  1. slm508af says :

    I too did Bubblr and I too am teaching social studies, or at least I plan on it once I get my certification. I think it’s a great tool for a social studies class, it’s really good for reviewing with students. I also think it would be great to make it into a project for students so they could mix history and technology outside of Powerpoint presentations.

    • annelomonn says :

      Yes, anything outside of PowerPoint would be a welcome change. It’s not that PowerPoint is a bad technology, but when students create projects only using PowerPoint I end up seeing an entire class of virtually the same project. PowerPoint has become so commonplace that it does not promote creative and insightful work anymore.

Leave a Reply

